You can download the release candidate for Ubiquity 0.1.2 here:

ubiquity-0.1.2rc1.xpi

Please give it a try and, if you find any serious bugs you think ought to be fixed before we release it for real, send an email to ubiquity-core@googlegroups.com.

Among other things, 0.1.2 contains a preliminary version of the parser-localization API we discussed in my previous post. I took the advice of my (overwhelmingly helpful!) commenters and, instead of trying to factor out some kind of declarative grammar description, I left a space for a quite open-ended function that takes the input, the list of known verbs, and the list of known nouns, and returns a list of partially-parsed sentences. I think it should be general enough to allow for the full range of weirdness that is present in natural languages, while factoring out the all the common-across-languages behavior that the parser core should be handling for you.

The API is described in detail in the parser localization API tutorial I wrote. If you’re at all interested, please give it a read and let me know how you think it could be improved or clarified. (If you’re very interested, you might even try using it to write a parser plugin; if you want to try, I’ll be happy to answer any questions you have.)

P.S. Here’s the complete release notes for 0.1.2.

P.P.S. We’ve been churning through release candidates rapidly over the past couple of days. We are now up to RC4. That link is the one you should use if you want to try out the latest and greatest.